Wk 14- Art Experience- Sketching in the Garden

For this week’s art experience, we got to sketch in the garden. When I found out that we had to draw, I wasn’t looking forward to this art experience. I am really horrible with drawing and drawing is definitely not my specialty. Thankfully, this art experience is graded on effort. In the beginning, I wasn’t sure what abstract art was, so I decided to google some examples and look up information about abstract art. I found out that abstract art is “art that does not attempt to represent external reality, but seeks to achieve its effect using shapes, forms, colors, and textures.” When I first got to the Japanese Garden, the first thing I did was take pictures. Taking pictures was the easy part. I took pictures of things that caught my eye. I took pictures with certain distances and different angles.

Below are 3 representational photos:

Below are 3 abstract photos:

After taking photos, I had to find a place to sit and draw. There was this lady drawing with pastels and her drawing was so beautiful. When I looked at it, I wished I could draw or paint like that. Drawing was not easy. I had no idea what I was doing in the beginning. I didn’t know where to start, but eventually I just went with the flow. I started drawing and I think they came out looking okay. I drew pictures of a plant, bushes, an overview of the pond, and etc. It may not be the best, but I gave it my all. I never sat down and drew anything before because when it comes to drawing, I don’t even want to try because I know I’m terrible at it. However, after today’s art experience, I learned that it’s okay to not be good at drawing. You can still enjoy art even if art isn’t your strongest subject.

Below are 3 abstract drawings:

Below are 3 representational drawings:

Overall, I really enjoyed this art experience. I thought it was really nice to just sit back, relax, and just draw. It was a wonderful experience and I’m glad that I got to try it. Below are some more photos I took while I was at the Japanese Garden.

 

Leave a Reply

