Wk 13- Art Experience- Art Care Package (ACP)


This week’s art experience was something really fun to do. I have always wanted to make a care package for someone. I finally get the chance! (:  When I was told that we had to do an art care package, I wasn’t sure what it meant. I wasn’t sure if the only thing inside can be art related items because when I think about care packages, the first thing I think about is food. I had a hard time deciding about what to put inside and after looking online for some ideas, I decided to do a care package in preparation of finals. The care package includes a mini survival kit and miscellaneous items.

Sending someone an ACP is kind of similar to sending someone a Snapchat. Through Snapchat, you’re getting things virtually and it only last for about 10 seconds. You’ll still receive the message or picture, but it won’t last for long. ACP is different from sending a Snapchat because the items you’ll receive, you will be able to keep them. You’ll physically have them in your hand and I think it is more meaningful than a snap.

I think that ephemera is precious and can gain in value over time. Although a ephemera is something that exist or is used or enjoyed for a short time, it can be meaningful. Just like how people say the little things in life is what matters. For example, your grandma’s parking ticker from half a century ago or her tickets from Woodstock. Although these items didn’t happen when you were born, it could be something you shared with your grandma. The bond you guys had together or maybe there was a story behind the tickets. It’s nice to have things from back then and compare them to the things we have now. We get to see the changes.

I don’t think that there is a difference between art that is seen by many people and art that is seen by a few. I feel that art is art. Anything is art. Everyone is different and has different interpretations of what they see as art. Some art may be well known and be famous, while some arts are seen by a few and haven’t been discovered yet.

I feel that time and effort difference does mean something . Sometimes faster is better because it’s more convenient, but I think receiving something is more meaningful. I think that ACP has the possibility of containing a sort of “love” that is different from Snapchat. With ACP, your packing the care package with effort. You actually thought about what to put in there and what to do. With Snapchat, it only takes a click of a button to send a picture. That picture will only last at most 10 seconds. Overall, I really enjoyed this art experience and I can’t wait to receive my package!

Leave a Reply

